Release: 01-04-2015
Origin:    Netherlands
Length:    38:31

When your debut is directly taken over and released by Metal Blade Records! When your first album is immediately marked as the feature of death metal! Than the standards are set! Let’s see if Apophys can fulfil them.

For those not familiar with Apophys, these guys are coming from the Netherlands and the drummer is known for playing in bands like God Dethroned and his former band Prostitute Disfigurement. His insanely fast and tight drumming delivers the steady base for a Cannibal Corpse and Hate Eternal like intensity of their death metal. More than with his other band(s) groove, rhythms and tempo changes are making this album very interesting and developing to explore. These small additions create an attractive atmospheric modern death metal hybrid.

For the technical collisions of the song structures both guitarist Sanne van Dijk and vocalist Kevin Quilligan are mainly responsible. Combine this with a more intelligent approach concerning both lyrical concepts and thoughts and Apophys have made themselves stand out from the standards and average levels of the technical death metal fraction.

Overall a very impressive and attractive debut, which is the primal incursion for a long term attack!



GRAVEWORM - Ascending Hate


Formats: CD, Digipak, Vinyl, Box Set
Release Date Europe: June 19th, 2015
Release Date USA: July 7th, 2015

This is Graveworm number 9. This is Graveworm FANTASTIC 9!

Italian Heroes of melodic, orchestral, dark metal Graveworm are back with a bombastic new album following their own thematically glorious legacy! This band can do no wrong, they are kings of their genre and this album is a perfect example of that!

With a portfolio including such opus like “When Daylight's Gone”,  “As the Angels Reach the Beauty”, “Scourge of Malice”, “Engraved in Black”, “(N)Utopia”, “Collateral Defect” , “Diabolical Figures” and “Fragments of Death” what we have to expect is another magnum opus! You got it! “Ascending Hate” is the next big thing in this so called Dark Metal and the thing becomes clear for the very first lines of “Death Heritage”! Every song from opening “Death Heritage” to “Nocturnal Hymns” is brilliantly created to make this one of Graveworm's best album' s so far.

All Graveworm trademarks are here! Melody, lyricism, sharpness, darkness, drama, epos, love, mysticism, life and death! Each song makes you feel a certain way, like in the climactic parts of the songs you get a real feeling of power and invincibility because the melodies are like written so godly perfect that they when you hear them you can't do anything else but stop and just let the music devour your senses so you can appreciate it to the full capacity.

They really do a great job of incorporating memorable melodies into one of the least accessible music  genres of our century. With catchy songs, a brutal delivery, and a great gimmick (a gimmick designed to get attention), this is as good as underground metal gets.



The Antichrist Imperium - The Antichrist Imperium

Apocalyptic Witchcraft Recordings
Release: 7 August 2015

The Antichrist Imperium is here covering the space Akercocke left after their split–up.

Including great musicians raised from Akercocke ashes like the “blast war undertaker” David Gray ( Akercocke, The Berzerker, My Dying Bride, Voices) and guitar embalmer Matt Wilcock ( The Berzerker, Akercocke, Belligerent Intent) The antichrist Imperium exhume the infernal sonic artillery from the sixth Akercocke album that never was & present its rancid remains for your listening pleasure.

Decidedly these antichristian rebellions extend the boundaries of black/death/thrash metal sound, offering a macabre musical holocaust right from hell.
Of large musical skills The Antichrist Imperium mix (better say progress) perfectly the most extreme sound of death metal icons like Deicide, Vital Remains, Acheron with psychedelic tunes, lot of  rock moments, theatrical horror gothic breaks and tons of retro-thrash riffs .
Exactly like Akercocke have doing but here is more complicated and extended! Let’s say a "wise" step beyond.

Furthermore fellow conspirator Sam Loynes (Voices, Shrines) provides an innovative contemporary vocal performance alongside Aussie legend Sam Bean (The Berzerker, The Senseless) who delivers the traditional death metal werewolf embellishment.

This truly is a masterpiece. An outstanding follow-up to Akercocke’ s tradition. This album has got it all... sharp guitar work by Matt Wilcock, precise and in-your-face drumming by David Gray, all kind of vocals by the Loynes, Bean duo.

Past and present collide in a harrowing frenzy of Death, Black, thrash & progressive metal flavours to energize and revitalise the spirit of the Antichrist in 2015.

A Sophistic Blasphemy....



Page 3 of 251

Πρόσφατα Reviews

  • Armored Saint - Win Hands Down METAL BLADE RECORDS 2015 After 1991's Symbol of Salvation, Armored Saint has typically made an album every 5-to-10 years. The Angelenos seem to slip...
  • Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain Metal Blade Records 2014 Cannibal Corpse—they’ve been cranking out CANNIBALISTIC death metal for longer than some of you probably have been alive....
  • Freedom Call - 666 Weeks Beyond Eternity Steamhammer - SPV 2015 Nurnberg’s Freedom Call come to us this year with a double-disc compilation of ‘Happy Metal’.  They first came to general...
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8